man texting while driving in a upscale car

Is texting while driving against the law in Illinois?

Cell Phone Use While Driving Laws in Illinois

You may have heard that texting while driving is just as bad, or worse, than driving under the influence of alcohol or other drugs. For many of us on the road, that thought is terrifying. However, just because it’s dangerous doesn’t necessary mean it’s against the law, right?

Let’s take a look at that.

Is texting while driving against the law in Illinois?


Which Toyota Vehicles Have Apple CarPlay?


texting while driving Texting-While-Driving is Against the Law

It doesn’t matter which state you’re in, texting is against the law. Why? Well, as the NHTSA describes it, “Sending or reading a text takes your eyes off the road for 5 seconds. At 55 mph, that’s like driving the length of an entire football field with your eyes closed.” Other forms of cellular communication, like calling or hands-free, voice-dictated messages, vary from state to state. Today, we’ll look at Illinois and the two closest border states to Palatine that you might drive in on a regular basis: Wisconsin and Indiana. We’ll consult the GHSA for the legal information we need.

Illinois Distracted Driving Laws

Distracted driving is a citable offense in Illinois. Texting while driving is illegal. Hand-held calling is also against the law. Hands-free cell-phone operation is legal unless you’re a novice driver (under 19 years old, as defined by Illinois state legislature).

Wisconsin Distracted Driving Laws

No surprise here: distracted driving is illegal in Wisconsin too. Texting is illegal, no exceptions. Hand-held calling is okay unless you’re in a work zone. Hands-free calling is alright too. Like Illinois, though, if you’re a novice driver, any phone operation is off-limits. Wisconsin defines a novice driver as anyone with a learner’s permit or intermediate license.

Indiana Distracted Driving Laws

Same as Illinois and Wisconsin, distracted driving is citable. Just like Wisconsin and Illinois, texting is banned. Both hand-held and hands-free calling are legal though. That is unless, of course, you are a novice driver, which Indiana defines as drivers under 21 years of age.

Toyota Safety Sense

New Toyota vehicles come with the Toyota Safety Sense suite. To experience the safety features for yourself, schedule a test drive.